Patrons and trustees

Board of trustees

Our trustees are unpaid volunteers who are ultimately responsible for the governance, leadership and financial viability of the charity. They set the strategic direction to enable us to work towards achieving our vision.

Kerry Rubie

Vice Chair

Joannie Andrews
Sonia Campbell
Rob Chapman
Viscount Devonport
Rikki Garcia
Chris Maidment
Jonathan Passman
James Ross
Jeremy Withers Green

Members of the board of trustees are also members of at least one of the four principal committees or the Chair’s Group, which also sits as the Remuneration Committee and the Nominations Committee. The four principal committees are: Audit and Risk; Fundraising and Public Affairs; Resources and Investment; and Service Delivery.

Royal Patron

Her Majesty The Queen

Friends of the Elderly has been fortunate to enjoy the patronage of The Queen since 1953. Through receptions at the palace, meeting the older people we work with, and supporting fundraising appeals, Her Majesty has helped us support thousands of people throughout the decades of her reign.


HRH Princess Alexandra, the Hon. Lady Ogilvy

Vice Presidents

Robin Aisher OBE
Roderic Bullough
Lady Gingell
Joan Orford


The Rt Hon Baroness Boothroyd OM PC
Professor Dawn Brooker
Diana Lady Farnham DCVO
Baroness Sally Greengross OBE
The Hon Mrs McAulay

Honorary Physician

Dr Trevor Hudson

Honorary Chaplain

The Reverend Prebendary Charles Marnham

Chairs of Local Support Groups

The Lawn: Noni de Zoete
Coulsdon: Jean Turner
Malvern: Brenda Cooke
Moulsford: Lady Linda Farrar-Hockley